Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

129° AB. ARG. HSBC - Date 5 - P2

12-11-2022 TRIPLE CROWN


On field 1 of the Campo Argentino de Polo in Palermo, on Saturday 11/12, dates 5 of the most important tournament in the world ended: the 129th HSBC Argentine Polo Open.


In a match in which there was a lot at stake because both arrived undefeated, La Irenita Grand Champions defeated La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus 13-11 and, with two wins in the same number of presentations, was in a good position to define Zone A , on Friday 11/25. In addition, he won the Johnnie Walker Cup, which was at stake in this match.




In a changing game and at times very even, La Irenita achieved an important victory that leaves it standing very well in the face of a hypothetical zone definition. With a great game by Fran Elizalde from Pampas, LI Grand Champions turned the score around after the 0-4 in the initial chukker, went ahead from the fourth and then managed the advantage. La Ensenada RS MS did not give up and tried to achieve a tie that would take the game to extra time, but Jero del Carril's expulsion with one minute to go cut off the chance.






Teams and progression:




La Irenita Grand Champions: Juan Britos (h) 9 (4 goals, three penalties), Francisco Elizalde 9 (4), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (3, one penalty) and Juan M. Zubía 8 (2). Overall: 36.


La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola 8 (4), Alfredo Bigatti 9, Guillermo Caset (h) 9 (5, two penalties) and Jerónimo del Carril 8 (2) (He received a red card at 5:37 of the eighth chukker) . Overall: 34.




La Irenita Grand Champions: 0-4, 2-5, 5-5, 8-5, 9-7, 10-7, 11-8 and 13-11.




Judges: Gastón Lucero and Martín Pascual.                             Referee: José I. Araya.






Meanwhile, on Sunday the 13th, they will do it for Zone B at 2:00 p.m. on field 2, Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres vs. La Esquina - second classified team-; and at 4:30 pm, for the Case IH Cup, in a duel from Cañuelas, La Dolfina Saudi vs. Breed La Dolfina.




Get your tickets at https://www.ticketek.com.ar/triple-corona-2022/campo-argentino-de-polo






All matches are broadcast live on Star+ (Argentina and Latin America) and via streaming on https://live.aapolo.com/ Subscribe!








The teams for Sunday 11/13 – Zone B:




14.00 – Pitch 2




Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres (m) 9 and Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.


La Esquina: Pascual Sáinz de Vicuña 6, Cristian Laprida (h) 8, Lucas James 7 and Ignacio Laprida 8. Total: 29.




Judges: Guillermo Villanueva (h) and Hernán Tasso.               Referee: José I. Araya.






4.30pm – Court 1 – Case IH Cup




La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10, David Stirling (h) 10, Adolfo Cambiaso (n) 9 and Juan M. Nero 10. Total: 39.


Breeding La Dolfina: Guillermo Terrera (h) 9, Tomás Panelo 8, Diego Cavanagh 8 and Alejo Taranco 8. Total: 33.




Judges: Matías Baibiene and Gastón Lucero.                           Referee: Martin Pascual.






The formations that remain free on dates 5 and 6:






La Irenita Gsquared: Santiago Loza 8, Segundo Bocchino 7, Martín Podestá (h) 7 and Felipe Dabas 7. Total: 29.






La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8, Tomás Fernández Llorente (m) 8, Bautista Bayugar 8 and Isidro Strada 8. Total: 32.







They are sponsors of the 129th HSBC Argentine Polo Open, HSBC as Title Sponsor; Volkswagen as Gold Sponsor; ESPN, Imperial, Motorola, Johnnie Walker, Trapiche, La Nación and Omint as Official Sponsors; La Martina, CentraLab, Case IH, Río Uruguay Seguros and US Polo Assn. as Sponsors; and Casablanca, Termas de Río Hondo and Argentine Beef as advertisers; while WE ARE SPORTS is an exclusive commercial agent.